Pancake Day Race!!!

Dr. Jules Hilbert: Hell Harold, you could just eat nothing but pancakes if you wanted.

Harold Crick: What is wrong with you? Hey, I don’t want to eat nothing but pancakes, I want to live! I mean, who in their right mind in a choice between pancakes and living chooses pancakes?

Dr. Jules Hilbert: Harold, if you pause to think, you’d realise that that answer is inextricably contingent upon the type of life being led… and, of course, the quality of the pancakes.”

– Stranger Than Fiction 

Pancake Races

I heard about the Spitalfields Pancake Race before I moved to London and it’s been on my list of Weird British Traditions to Take Part In since then. This year I FINALLY got to go see it in person. Here are some snaps (and a couple of videos) to help you get a feel for this wonderfully ridiculous day.

IMG_1753

The M.C. giving instructions to the teams. There was a lot of “stopping and tossing” involved.

IMG_1746

The stars of the day.

IMG_1749

The prize for the winning team: their name engraved on this illustrious frying pan.

IMG_1799

And they’re off.

IMG_1780

Probably my favourite shot. A strawberry, a worker and a spoon(?) preparing to stop and toss.

IMG_1790

Crossing the finish line!

The friend I was with made a cool video of the happenings with the app Cameo. I might just start using this thing for my walks! It’s pretty great.

http://cameo.tv/c/RANHXikQ

Obviously after all this talk of pancakes we were ready to eat a stack ourselves. We found our way to The Breakfast Club where they had a special challenge going on for the day: eat 12 pancakes in 15 minutes or less and get your meal free. If you fail, you donate £17.50 to the charity they were supporting. I didn’t feel like vomiting so I opted out, but lots of people took it on and a few even won. Here is one of our neighbours beginning his challenge.

And some choice shots of his face as he approached the finish line.

Pancake Day 5

Assessing the remaining stack.

Pancake Day 1

Trying to keep it down.

Pancake Day 7

And success. He managed in something like 11ish minutes. Pretty impressive really.

Finally, I finished off the day (after a respectable interval, obviously) with a stack of British pancakes at home, made to order. A Pancake Day success if I do say so myself.

2014-03-04 19.41.42

See you next time! 

142 days until the Congestion Zone Party! Follow on Twitter for more updates. //

Leave a Reply

