Progress Report #4

27 days until the Congestion Zone Ends Party! Follow on Twitter for more updates.

Hello!

I have some big, exciting news!

I have officially finished the NORTH!!!

That’s crazy.

Looking at the map and remembering back to Day 1 at Tower Hill, I can’t quite believe I have done it all. It’s really far. Look at all that blue!

IMG_6469

And Now for the Stat-gasm

I tallied up the stats from my GPS tracker and blog stuff, and here’s what it says:

Stats

Nearly 305 miles! Woot!

For some perspective, if I had gotten out of bed one day and decided to walk in a straight line (as straight as you can in the UK) instead of up and down every London street, I would now be in the Lake District instead of Vauxhall (damn!).

And 138.5 hours is nothing to snigger at either. That’s 5.8 solid days of walking.

Also, with all these posts (and I have walked much more than I have written), I am now over 48,000 words. I haven’t had a goal for writing a certain number of words, but once I realised they were adding up, I thought it would be nice to track them and see how much I actually write over the course of the whole project.

A typical novel is 50,000 words, so I am pretty impressed I’ll be there in a couple of posts. NANORIMO here I come.

This all sounds like a great excuse for a…

Party!

I would love to see you at the party on July 26th (open house style from 2:30-5:30) to celebrate being done with this beast of a project.

Everyone is invited.

That means you!

I love London nerds, walking nerds, writing nerds, travel nerds, book nerds, any nerds at all (and regular people too, I suppose), and I would love to meet anyone who happens to have some free time that day so we can chat about our mutual nerdery (and maybe I can get to hear what other people are up to for once!).

I am going to be honest. That last walk (Day 53) was a big one. Really big. I wanted to finish the north by the end of June so I pushed through, but there is no way I could do that three times a week for a month.

I keep (somewhat obsessively) totalling, re-totalling and trying to estimate how many walks are left, and I hope I can get them done in time! All I know is that it’s a LOT of walking to go. Those last couple of weeks could be interesting. Stay tuned! I might need some pep talks in a few days!

You can find out details about the party on the Facebook page here.

Note: I might be moving venue because, as it turns out, the bar is closed at exactly the time I booked. I will update you as soon as I pick another place but it will be equally close to all the big transport links, so it shouldn’t change your trajectory much at all.

Need More London Walking in Your Life?

Also, a little more good news.

I wrote a piece for an ebook called The Insider’s Guide to Walking in London that just came out this week!

The book was organised by Catherine at London Hiker, who compiled ideas for walks from loads of London-loving folks like you and me.

The best part is that the book is FREE! You can download your copy here and find lots of inspiration for days out in London.

Enjoy!

And now I have to try and contain all this excitement and get back to writing these posts I owe you.

See you again soon! 

27 days until the Congestion Zone Ends Party! Follow on Twitter for more updates.


//

Quick update from the future: now that this project is finished, I’m off on another adventure! Keep in touch on my new blog at Three Miles an Hour. See you there!

Leave a Reply

