Day 63

You can find the map for today’s 9.06 mile walk here.

This is the first walk where I both thought to myself and said out loud, “Why the hell am I doing this?” We had record-breaking heat, high levels of humidity and no clouds to provide even a minute of shade. I was mostly miserable. Couple that with the fact that I didn’t find much of interest (probably because my brain was so exhausted from trying not to shrivel up and die that I couldn’t focus on much else), and you get 9 miles of zombie-walking.

Oh well. They can’t all be Day 62, can they?

The few pictures I took prove that I wasn’t really into it that day. I found:

  • more phone boxes.

Day 63

  • A friendly guy wearing some rainbow loom bracelets (shock!) with good colour combos.

IMG_7745

  • And a lot more houses.

Day 631

It was a long, hot, boring day. The one highlight was my excessively long lunch at Sobo Cafe. The food was really tasty, the fresh juice was delicious and the server brought me endless glasses of ice water – glasses the size of my face. I might not have survived the day without that place.

When I finally got back out walking and the end was within sight, I ended up saying hello to the most chatty (though very nice) gentleman, and as a result spent a phenomenally long time, well, I would say talking to with him, but I will go with listening to him. He meant well and it wasn’t his fault the sun had murdered me already and taken away any chance I had at caring about anything other than water and shade. But apparently fate was trying to tell me it was high time I knew about the four CIA members who took down flight 17 over the Ukraine and their ties to Malaysian Airlines. I still don’t really get how that all pieced together…

Perhaps my favourite part of the conversation was when a little girl who was walking by with her mom saw the motorcycle the chatty guy was working on and ran up to it, hugged it and shouted, “Pony!”

DCIM138GOPRO

And that’s about the last thing I remember before I blacked out.

See you next time! 

You can find the map for today’s 9.06 mile walk here.


//

IMG_7817

Quick update from the future: now that this project is finished, I’m off on another adventure! Keep in touch on my new blog at Three Miles an Hour. See you there!

Leave a Reply

